Weather delay postpones decisive game at NAIA Softball World Series

Southern Oregon is nine outs away from its first ever NAIA Softball Championship.

Posted: May 29, 2019 1:19 PM

SPRINGFIELD, Mo—A lengthy weather delay has postponed the decisive game of the NAIA Softball World Series and a potential celebration for Southern Oregon.

With the Raiders leading 6-3 in the top of the 5th inning, thunder, lightning and heavy rain moved in and forced the tarp to be put on the field.

The NAIA said the goal is to resume the game at 5 p.m. PT, 7 p.m. CT. An update will be provided at 3 p.m. PT, 5 p.m. CT in the event a longer delay is needed.

Officials say there is a possibility the game will be pushed to Thursday.

NAIA softball games must complete five innings in order to be considered official.

Article Comments

Medford
Overcast
43° wxIcon
Hi: 58° Lo: 44°
Feels Like: 39°
Brookings
Overcast
50° wxIcon
Hi: 55° Lo: 48°
Feels Like: 50°
Crater Lake
Clear
27° wxIcon
Hi: 51° Lo: 34°
Feels Like: 27°
Grants Pass
Overcast
46° wxIcon
Hi: 63° Lo: 47°
Feels Like: 46°
Klamath Falls
Clear
27° wxIcon
Hi: 51° Lo: 31°
Feels Like: 27°
Wet & Cool Weekend
KDRV Radar
KDRV Fire Danger
KDRV Weather Cam

Community Events

Latest Video

Image

Southern Oregon gets past Eastern Oregon for third straight win

Image

Oregon State eclipses 2018 win total

Image

Oregon knocks off rival Washington

Image

Mass Casualty Incident Drill

Image

Saturday, October 19 morning weather

Image

Friday Night Blitz: Week 7 scores and highlights

Image

Eagle Point High School welcomes new sparrow

Image

Friday, October 18th Evening Weather

Image

Daily J! - Herstory

Image

Friday Night Blitz Forecast: Brookings-Harbor vs. St. Mary's